Our Easter/General Conference Weekend

Happy Spring Everyone!
101_5097101_5104

101_5103

This spring comes with a lot of new changes for our little family:

1. Michael is (finally) finishing his first Tax Season at his new job and is embarking his first week of Grad-School at Regis University in just a few weeks.

2. We have found out we will be having two more cousins being born this year (yay!)

3. Bug is old enough for Nursery at church (woo hoo!)

4. We now have a place to have a garden–our new apartment has a balcony with enough sunshine for plants to grow! (yay!)

5. I finally taught myself how to crochet! Which is something I’ve always wanted to learn. (Thank you Youtube!)

Although we’re still moving into our new home (how do we have so much junk?) we’re truly enjoying our time in Denver so far. There are so many places we want to visit, and we’re already starting a “bucket-list” during our time here in Colorado. (here’s a link to our “bucket-list”)

Michael is enjoying his new job, although the past two months have been pretty busy (thumbs up for Tax Season!). We are, however, super glad that Michael received this job offer because now it seems possible for us to afford Grad-School for Michael (double-thumbs up!).

Bug is growing up faster than ever! I can’t believe my sweet, tiny, toothless, chubby cheeks is now a full-fledged toddler! It’s really scaring me because I know nothing about raising toddlers. Snuggling with babies–yes, stopping a toddler-tantrum–no. I am currently researching every parenting book, magazine and website known to mankind out there, and I still feel a little intimidated. Whoever came up with the term “Terrible Two” obviously never raised a child like mine–she’s only 18 months and is starting to show all the signs of a two-year-old. Despite her shenanigans, I love her with all my heart. I didn’t think I would ever have my heart so wrapped up around her finger like it is now. The powerful feeling of love you have for someone so little is so overwhelming I had no way of preparing for it. And I love it!

Like I mentioned above, I taught myself how to crochet! It is something I have always wanted to learn, and now that I have the time (and excuse–I have three friends and two sisters-in-law who are pregnant) to learn, I decided it is time. I went to the store, got all of the supplies I needed, turned on Youtube and sat myself down to learn. And I’m so proud of myself for sticking to it–I’ve learned how to make blankets, baby shoes, burp-clothes, diaper covers, and even a basket (you know, to hold my crocheting supplies…). That’s one thing I can check off my bucket list of things I’ve always wanted to do/learn.

This Easter weekend was really amazing! We got to hear (for the most part–having a toddler in your home makes it challenging to pay attention the whole time) from the Prophet and his Apostles and members of the Quorum of the Seventy at the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints’ General Conference. What I love most about General Conference is that there is always something that is said that really applies to me personally. For example, these past few months I have been feeling this desire to feel more gratitude in my life and to feel closer to our Savior Jesus Christ. And during this Spring’s Conference, President Thomas S. Monson expressed how we can be more grateful, “May we offer prayers of gratitude for His great and marvelous gifts to us.” He also shared how we can learn of Jesus Christ’s example, “We are engaged in the work of the Lord Jesus Christ,” he concluded. “Let us learn of Him. Let us follow in His footsteps. Let us live by His precepts.”

Click here if you’d like to watch/hear/read more about it. These messages are truly amazing and can apply to anyone and everyone.

I am so grateful to have my wonderful family, and such wonderful friends in my life. I am grateful to have a home, food on our table, and for Michael’s new job. I am so grateful for my parents and what they have taught me all my life to help me become who I am today. I am so grateful for the example our Savior Jesus Christ gives us, for He teaches us how we can return to our Father in Heaven. I am so grateful for the Prophet today, and what he can teach us during these trialing times. I firmly believe that as long as you stick close to God and His Son Jesus Christ, you will always feel complete.

This spring I am going to strive to become more grateful for everything around me. To see beauty in the world around us and to appreciate it in a meaningful way. And hopefully help influence others around me to feel more joy in their life as well.

I hope you enjoy this beautiful time of year as well–go outside, enjoy the sunshine, and get some fresh air. Love this Spring season. Trust me, you deserve it.

One thought on “Our Easter/General Conference Weekend

Leave a Reply

